2015 OCVN State Conference Awards

April 28, 2015

The Ohio Certified Volunteer Naturalists held their Annual State Conference at Camp Oty'okwa near Old Man's Cave on Saturday, April 25th.  Recognition awards are issued each year at the conference to acknowledge outstanding contributions of individual OCVNs, Chapters and partners of the OCVN Program.  Lynn Huston from the Hocking Hills Region Chapter served as Awards Chair for this year.

Congratulations and Thanks to all of the 2015 OCVN Award Winners!
2015 OCVN Awards

Category I: OCVN Alumni Awards recognizing individual volunteers for their service

Scholarship Project of the Year Award - based on evidence of advancing natural resource knowledge to others by an individual
          Mike Schumacher, SW RiverLands Chapter – (one project: expansion of OCVN website)
          Nominated by David Woehr, Rick Kneisel SW RiverLands OCVN
Continuing Excellence as an Ohio Certified Volunteer Naturalist- based on quantity and quality of service to the OCVN program
          John Johnston, SW RiverLands Chapter- (Nature Center host, Wild School Site Land 
          Nominated by Sarah Blair SW RiverLands OCVN

Category II: OCVN Collaborative Awards honoring partners & partnerships

Friend of OCVN Program - Someone who has given time and talent to promote the mission of the OCVN program
          Jeff Johnson, SE District Preserve Manger, DNAP – (Class instructor, Conference presenter)
           Nominated by Lorraine Fosnaugh, Hocking Hills Chapter

Teacher of the Year - recognition of an outstanding teacher and curriculum developer

           Robert L. Henn, author, educator, curator, Lebanon – (Conference guest speaker, class trainer)
           Nominated by Dave Woehr, SW Riverlands Chapter

Outstanding OCVN Mentor - recognition of an outstanding OCVN mentor and supportive coach and role mode

           Kim High, Naturalist, Metroparks Toledo – (started an Adult Field Study program)
           Nominated by Chris and Randy Haar, Lucas County

Category III: OCVN Chapter Awards recognizing stewardship and scholarship efforts

Stewardship Project of the Year- based on evidence of chapter involvement to protect or enhance Ohio’s natural resources.

Southwest RiverLands Chapter -(initiated the SWRL Grant Program)
Nominated by Mike Schumacher 

Scholarship Project of the Year- based on evidence of chapter involvement to advance natural resource knowledge to others

Southwest RiverLands Chapter - (created The Caesar Creek Wild School Site)
Nominated by Mike Schumacher
2015 Awards Nomination Committee
Sarah Betts, Natural Resource Coordinator, Hancock County Park District
Richard Kneisel, Southwest RiverLands OCVN
Lori Parratt, Wood County OCVN
Peter Torvik, Southwest RiverLands OCVN
Lynn Huston, Chair, Hocking Hills Region OCVN